Language Language

The Nordic World Heritage network

Nordic World Heritage was formed in 1995 by an initiative from The Finnish Museums Directorate and The Swedish Directorate for Cultural Heritage. The first meeting was held in Sveaborg (The Svea Fortress) in Helsingfors with delegates from all the Nordic countries.

 All the Nordic countries have places entered on the World Heritage list and in all there are 40 sites in the Nordic countries divided by countries in the following manner:

• Sweden: 15 sites

• Norway: 7 sites

• Denmark : 5 sites

• Finland : 7 sites

• Iceland: 2 sites

• Greenland: 1 site


Nordic World Heritage network


Norges Verdensarv
Postboks 181
7361 Røros

+47 47 03 90 51