Language Language

The World Heritage Convention

Norway ratified the World Heritage Convention on the 12th May 1977 and in 1979 achieved the entry of its two first sites, Bryggen in Bergen, and Urnes stave church. By signing the convention, countries undertake the duty of caring for both natural and cultural national monuments and sites and places that are on the World Heritage lists.

In accordance with the Convention countries are expected to integrate World Heritage into their general planning for the utilisation of land areas and afford sites the highest legal protection that a cultural monument can have, as well as develop the sites with regard to staffing, service facilities and availability. Countries must report on a regular basis to the World Heritage Committee regarding the status of preservation and other conditions of World Heritage sites.

It is the government of the individual countries who shall nominate candidates for inclusion on the World Heritage list and it is UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee who shall vote to decide if a site shall be included.

 In Norway, it is the Directorate for Nature Management together with The Directorate for Cultural Heritage and appropriate professional institutions who lead the nomination process.


World Heritage


Norges Verdensarv
Postboks 181
7361 Røros

+47 47 03 90 51